Via Crociferi è uno degli ambienti più monumentali della Catania barocca. Vi si dispongono l'arco di S.Benedetto, che la tradizione vuole costruito in una sola notte del 1704 dai Benedettini; la maestosa chiesa di S.Benedetto (1704-13), posta su un'alta scalinata; il Collegio dei Gesuiti, oggi sede dell'Istituto d'Arte; la chiesa di S.Giuliano, il convento dei padri Crociferi. Di grandiose proporzioni, la chiesa di S.Nicolò venne iniziata nel 1687, rimanendo però incompiuta. La facciata è di grande suggestione, con possenti colonne interrotte. L'interno, ora adibito a Sacrario dei caduti è impressionante per la vastità.
St.Giuliano church is considered the pearl of the reconstruction of XVIII century of Catania, it gives onto Crociferi street and is ascribed to Vaccarini, who realized it between 1739 and 1751. The façade, concave at the centre, is varied by a loggia of completion which is placed at the height of the second row of the façade. On the pediment, which dominated the entrance portal, there are two female allegorical figures. The parvis, closed by an iron fence is decorated by a weave of white and black pebbles. At the top, the cupola is wrapped up by a polygonal portico, which reminds the one of St.Chiara Church. Inside there is a huge octagonal area filled in of charming golden light, in which the wide chapel, the altars and masterpiece of XIV and XVII centuries take place.
At the entrance of this XVIII century Church emerges the precious decorated portal, one of the most important architectural works of Catania. According to the source, the portal originally constituted the main entrance of the ancient Cathedral, destroyed by the earthquake of 1693. For its stylistic features, the Portal can be considered a unique model in Sicily, because it does not have any similarities with Arab-Norman churches. In the XVIII century arrangement, the church was built close to the corner of a bastion of the XVI century, which incorporates an old zone, identified with St.Agata's prison by religious traditions. Inside the church, two relics are treasured, which are of fundamental importance for the cult of the Saint: a coffin in which were kept the sacred remains during the troubled journey from Constantinople to Catania, and two rocks of lava stone with the Saint's feet print.